A Welcome Vote

I am updating and celebrating. In a previous post, I wrote that the city commission of my hometown of Frankfort, KY was considering what is known as a Fairness Ordinance, that is an ordinance prohibiting discrimination in housing, employment and public accommodations based on sexual orientation. I had posted about some of the dissension and spoke of my belief in human rights for all.

I am here to report that our City Commission did indeed pass that ordinance (3-2) on August 28 and I am delighted. I must say that there was much discussion regarding the matter and the city commission meetings were extremely well attended. The religious community was divided and spoke up, especially the progressive and more conservative Baptists. We are in the Bible Belt. It was a good community conversation that even went into the newspapers, including opinion pieces and letters to the editors.

I must say that I am rather surprised by all this. I grew up here and have spent most of my life here. Kentucky is a conservative state and Frankfort is not the most liberal city, though in some ways rather moderate. Again, I am delighted.

I Declare World Peace.

 

Note: You can read articles from the regional paper, The Lexington Herald-Leader, on the Frankfort Fairness Ordinance here.

 

Leave a Reply

